Meet Our People

We’re a passionate team of music makers and music lovers who are proud to be part of the dynamic new music ecosystem.

Our Staff

Executive & Finance

Vanessa Reed

President & CEO

Daniel Marro

Administrative Associate

Lisa C. Nuñez

Finance Controller

Grants & Programs

Scott Winship

Director of Grantmaking Programs

Monisha Chowdhary

Grantmaking Manager

Kori Coleman

Program Coordinator, New Music Inc Chicago

Kendolyn Walker

Program Manager, Next Jazz Legacy

Christa Ebert

Program Associate

Amanda Gookin

Program Coordinator, New Music Inc NYC

Marquis Gasque (Mighty Mark)

Program Coordinator, New Music Inc Baltimore


Kate Dreyfuss

Communications Director

Jasmine Khorsandi

Digital Associate


Marc Giosi

Development Director

Valerie Marchesi

Development Manager

Board of Directors

New Music USA is governed by a board of dedicated music lovers who are committed to our mission and our role as national resource for new music. Our decision to be led by co-chairs with multidimensional experiences as composer and business executive has increased our capacity to draw from multiple perspectives as we respond to the shifting needs of our community.


Joseph Walker, Chair

Retired Vice Chairman, Investment Banking, JP Morgan; Board Member, Roulette

Amy Iwano, Vice-Chair

Gayle Morgan, Secretary

Former Program Officer, Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust

Steven Tresnan, Treasurer

Private Wealth Advisor, The Bahnsen Group

Vanessa Reed

New Music USA President & CEO

Reena Esmail

Reena Esmail, Artist Chair Emeritus

Composer; Co-Artistic Director of Shastra


Aja Burrell Wood

Managing Director, Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice; Ethnomusicologist, Curator, Violinist

Juan Pablo Contreras

Composer and Conductor; Artistic Director, Orquesta Latino Mexicana; Lecturer, USC Thornton School of Music

Dorothea Endicott

Arts Administrator and Composer

Bill Hochberg

Partner, Raines Feldman Littrell, LLP

Jennifer Jolley

Composer and Conductor; Assistant Professor, Lehman College

James Kendrick

Attorney at Law, Alter, Kendrick & Baron, LLP; Acting President, European American Distributors LLC

Chere Lott

Attorney at Law and Real Estate Broker, Chere D. Lott and Associates

Phyllis Mills


Angelica Sanchez

Baisley Powell Elebash Fund Artist Board Member, Composer; Lecturer, Princeton University; Lecturer, New School of Jazz and Contemporary Music

Anne-Marie Spataru

Chair, Board of Directors, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

Matías Tarnopolsky

President and CEO, The Philadelphia Orchestra Association

Susan Wegleitner

Managing Director and Group Head at J.P. Morgan

Joseph Young

Music Director, Berkeley Symphony; Artistic Director of Ensembles, Peabody Conservatory; Conductor

Fred Peters

Frederick Peters

Chair Emeritus

Steve Reich

Director Emeritus

Frances Richard

Honorary Director in Memoriam

Steven Stucky

Founding Member In Memoriam

Advisory Council

Our Advisory Council is made up of busy, creative people who love our work and are available for advice and support when we need them. We are so grateful for their belief in our work.

Teddy Abrams

Music Director and Conductor

Marin Alsop

Music Director and Conductor

Jonathan Bailey Holland


Jeff Beal

Composer, Jazz Instrumentalist

Kathryn Bostic

Composer, Artist

Kris Bowers

Composer, Pianist

Terri Lyne Carrington

Composer, Artist, Educator

Rhiannon Giddens

Musician Singer-Songwriter, Banjoist


Artist, Composer

Tania León

Composer, Conductor, Educator

George Lewis

Composer, Performer, Scholar

Nico Muhly

Composer, Collaborator, Arranger

Matana Roberts

Saxophonist, Composer, Multidisciplinary Artist

Kamala Sankaram

Composer, Instrumentalist

Jeanine Tesori

Composer, Musical Arranger

Brandee Younger

Composer, Artist

Miguel Zenón

Saxophonist, Composer, Educator

New Music USA Program Council

New Music USA’s Program Council enables representatives of the new music community from across the United States to bring ideas, contribute feedback, and advise staff on New Music USA activities and the changing needs of the field. Program Council meetings complement the active dialogue and relationships we have through our daily work with the artists, practitioners, writers, and organizations we support.


Arooj Aftab

New York

Ambrose Akinmusire


Raven Chacon

New Mexico

Sebastian Currier

New York

Amanda Ekery


David Ludwig


Gustavo Matamoros


Angélica Negrón

New York

Sam Newsome

New York

Frances Pollock


Jake Runestad


Carlos Simon

Washington DC

David Skidmore


Derrick Skye


Omar Thomas


Sakari Dixon Vanderveer


Artists, Administrators, Presenters, & Curators

Amanda DeBoer


Ashleigh Gordon


Chelsey Green


Aaron Greenwald


Alex Laing


Flor Lizbeth Cruz Longoria


Maggie Molloy


Jannina Norpoth

New York/Michigan

Valerie Sainte-Agathe


Ashley Shabankareh