Industry News

News and announcements from around the community.

Sep 13

Annika Socolofsky wins the 2021 Gaudeamus Award

Composer-performer Annika Socolofsky has won the 2021 Gaudeamus Award for her composition Don’t say a word on September 12 during the final concert by Black Page Orchestra of Gaudeamus 2021 in TivoliVredenburg in Utrecht, The Netherlands. Socolofsky was one of four composers nominated for this prestigious incentive prize--along with Jenny Beck, Gen Tanaka and Matthew Ricketts--in 2020, but because of pandemic-related travel restrictions there was no ceremony last year.

Aug 17

Texu Kim Awarded the 2021 Barlow Prize

The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University has awarded its 2021 $12,000 Barlow Prize commission to Korean-born American composer Texu Kim after reviewing 574 submissions from 41 countries. Kim will write a major new work for Sinfonietta to be premiered by Alarm Will Sound, The London Sinfonietta, The Oakland Symphony Orchestra, and The St. Paul Chamber Orchestra in 2023-2024. In addition, the Endowment granted $60,000 to 9 composers who will write works for the following ensembles and musicians: David Biedenbender (Haven Trio), Dorothy Chang (Evelyn Glennie and Land’s End Ensemble), Natacha Diels (JACK Quartet), Stefan Freund (Splinter Reeds), Todd Kitchen (Left Coast Chamber Ensemble), Wang Lu (Seattle Modern Orchestra), Lansing McLoskey (Network for New Music), Joseph Sowa (Room 1078), and Ethan Wickman (San Antonio Symphony).

Aug 13

Tania León's Stride Among 64 Works Chosen for Performance During the 2021 ISCM WNMD

The organizers of the 2021 ISCM World New Music Days in Shanghai and Nanning, China, have announced their selection of works which will be performed during the festival; among the 64 chosen works is Tania León's 2021 Pulitzer Prize-winning orchestra work Stride, which was submitted by New Music USA. Unfortunately, due to the ongoing dangers posed by the pandemic around the world, the festival will not be able to take place in September 2021 as was originally planned, but the organizers are hoping that the festival can occur in late March 2022.

Jul 20

National Endowment for the Arts Announces 2022 NEA Jazz Masters

Stanley Clarke, Billy Hart, Cassandra Wilson, and Donald Harrison, Jr. have been named 2022 NEA Jazz Masters by the The National Endowment for the Arts. In addition to receiving a $25,000 award, the recipients will be honored in a concert on Thursday, March 31, 2022, held in collaboration with and produced by SFJAZZ.

Jun 14

BMI Announces 2021 Student Composer Awards

BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.), in collaboration with the BMI Foundation (BMIF) has announced the six winners of the 69th Annual BMI Student Composer Awards. Each year these awards recognize superior musical compositional ability with educational scholarships totaling $20,000. This year’s group of talented composers, aged 18 to 27, were showcased across BMI’s and BMIF’s digital platforms in honor of their outstanding accomplishments.

Jun 12

MPA 2021 Paul Revere Awards for Music Engraving

The 2021 Paul Revere Awards were announced during the 2021 meeting of the Music Publishers Association, which was held virtually on June 11, 2011. Among the first, second, and third prize winning scores, adjudicated in 11 different categories, were an unprecedented 10 publications of scores by Black and Latine American composers, both new works and new editions of older repertoire.

May 19

Four Composers Newly Inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2021

Along with 10 writers, 9 artists and 6 architects, 4 composers--Anthony Davis, Wynton Marsalis, Roberto Sierra, and Henry Threadgill--were newly inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters as part of the Academy's Ceremonial, held virtually on May 19, 2021. Berlin-based Korean-born composer Unsuk Chin was also one of four foreign honorary members inducted. In addition, 2020 composer inductees Terry Riley and Chinary Ung were also honored and longtime academician Yehudi Wyner was awarded the Gold Medal, the Academy's highest honor.

Jazz Journalists Association
May 06

2021 JJA Jazz Awards Winners Announced

Creative women earned significant recognition: Both composer-orchestra leader Maria Schneider, whose album Data Lords (ArtistShare) is Record of the Year, and drummer-producer educator Terri Lyne Carrington, Jazz Musician of the Year, won multiple awards.

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
Apr 08

12 Composers Among Recipients of 2021 Guggenheim Fellowships

The Board of Trustees of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has approved the awarding for Guggenheim Fellowships to a diverse group of 184 artists, writers, scholars, and scientists--among them 12 composers.

National Endowment for the Arts
Mar 17

The Art of Reopening Webinar

The webinar was based in part on the NEA’s report The Art of Reopening: A Guide to Current Practices Among Arts Organizations During COVID-19 that was published in January 2021.

U.S. Small Business Administration
Jan 20

Shuttered Venue Operators Grant

This grant provides emergency assistance for eligible venues affected by COVID-19.