10 American Composers’ Works Chosen for 2016 Ars Electronica Forum in Switzerland

Ten of the 24 electronic compositions selected for presentation during Switzerland’s 10th Forum Wallis (which were chosen from among 289 submissions from 45 countries) are by American composers.

Written By

NewMusicBox Staff

Electronic works by ten American composers will be presented during the 10th Forum Wallis, an international festival for new music which will take place between May 12 and 16, 2016 at the historic Leuk Castle in the Canton of Valais, Switzerland. For the second time in the festival’s history, there was an international competition for electronic compositions. Out of 289 submissions from 45 countries, a total of 24 works were chosen.

Forum Wallis logo

Below is a list of the ten works by American composers which will be featured. (Click on the links on the titles to hear each of the pieces.)

Nicholas Chase: Dance Haiku 1.1, 1.2 & 2.3
Dave Gedosh: Guitar Construction #2: Progressive Fracture
Charles Halka: Live Bass Improv
Stephen Lilly: …in a shower of all my days…
Joseph Michaels: Ein geschlossener Waffenstillstand
John Nichols III: Nothing That Breathes
Christoffer Schunk: Until No Longer Effective
Michael Sterling Smith: Ictus
Phil Taylor: Pathways

The other composers featured during the festival are James Andean (Finland), Laurence Bouckaert (France), Mikel Chamizo (Spain), Manfredi Clemente (Italy/UK), Jannik Giger (Switzerland), Orestis Karamanlis (Greece), Alain Michon (France), Marco Molteni (Italy), Mirjana Nardelli (Italy), Yasuhiro Otani (Japan), Emilie Payeur (Canada), and Leonie Roessler (Germany/Netherlands).

(—from the press release)