10th Anniversary Logo - Large

New Music USA’s 10th Anniversary Video #WeAreNewMusic 

Video and Artist Credits

New Music USA: #WeAreNewMusic 


 Video Credits:

Video post-production by Evan Chapman at Four/Ten Media. 

Content coordinated by Alanna Maharajh Stone at New Music USA. 



“La Isla Mágica” written by Angélica Négron 

Performed by Angélica Négron and Eleonore Oppenheim  

From Eleonore Oppenheim’s album “Home” (Innova Recordings) 


Featured Artists in Alphabetical Order:  


Alonzo King LINES Ballet  

Alonzo King LINES Ballet and Lisa Fischer – video excerpt from The Propelled Heart. 

Alonzo King LINES Ballet, Dancer Ashley Mayeux, Photographer: RJ Muna.  

Organizational Development Fund & Project Grant recipients.  


Béla Fleck 

NewMusicBox “Things That Sound Right” feature by Frank J. Oteri and filmed by Molly Sheridan. Article / Video.  


Bryce Dessner 

NewMusicBox “I’m The Same Musician Wherever I Go” feature by Frank J. Oteri, video by Alexandra Gardner. Article / Video  


Caroline Shaw,  Sō PercussionDawn UpshawGilbert Kalish: Narrow Sea 

Caroline Shaw, composer; Sō Percussion, percussion; Dawn Upshaw, soprano; Gilbert Kalish, piano. Sō Percussion: Eric Cha-Beach, Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski, and Jason Treuting. 

Video / by Four/Ten Media 

Project Grant.


Community MusicWorks

Community MusicWorks – Four Contemplations by composer Ken Ueno. 

Community MusicWorks – Traces, a sonic collaboration between    

Community MusicWorks, composer Shaw Pong Liu, The Rhode Island Historical Society, and numerous individuals from their community and neighborhood with the aim of tracing, acknowledging, and celebrating the history of what is now called 1326 Westminster Street, Providence. (Footage from older funded projects used as the Music for Refugees in Providence, RI project is delayed due to COVID.) 

Project Grant.  


Die Jim Crow Records 

Featured: Lifers Groove featuring Naomi Blount Wilson & Carl Dukes. 

New Music Capacity Building Program for Die Jim Crow Records 

Creator Development Fund for Naomi Blount Wilson.


Derrick Skye 

LACO Reception footage for Prisms, Cycles, Leaps. 

Music Alive: New Partnerships 


Ear Taxi Festival feat. Doyle Armbrust 

Doyle Armbrust performing a piece by Shumalit Ran at Ear Taxi 2016. 

Project Grant.


Emer Kinsella 

Reel Change Film Fund 


Erin Collins, Nico MuhlyTamar-Kali, Vanessa Reed: Composing for Film Panel

From New Music USA presents: Composing for Film as part of New York Music Month Extended Play. March 30, 2021. Video. 


Hannibal Lokumbe 

NewMusicBox feature “Always Go With the Feeling” by Frank J. Oteri with video by Molly Sheridan. Article / Video 


JACK QuartetTyshawn Sorey and Sabrina Schroeder: Everything Changes, Nothing Changes 

Photo of JACK Quartet: Beowulf Sheehan.
Photo of Tyshawn Sorey: John Rogers.

Project Grant. 


Molly Joyce and Jerron Herman 

Can You from Breaking and Entering 

Four/Ten Media

Project Grant.


Morton Subotnick 

NewMusicBox feature “The Mad Scientist in the Laboratory of the Ecstatic Moment” by Frank J. Oteri with video by Molly Sheridan.  Video 


New Music Detroit 

Rehearsal footage for composer Angélica Negrón’s Say Something In Spanish

Organizational Development Fund & Project Grant.


The Native American Composer Apprentice Project (NACAP) by 
Grand Canyon Music Festival 

Thylia Yazzie speaking about her piece Farewell, dedicated to her uncle Stanley Brown, and performed by the Catalyst Quartet. 

Xavier Ben speaking about his piece Nuclear Crystalperformed by the Catalyst Quartet. 

Project Grant. 


Samora Pinderhughes 

Grief by Samora Pinderhughes, piano and lead vocals; Brad Allen Williams, guitar;
Boom Bishop, electric bass; Clovis Nicolas, double bass; Marcus Gilmore, drums; Elena Pinderhughes, flute; Immanuel Wilkins, alto saxophone;
Lucas Pino, tenor saxophone; Jehbreal Jackson, vocals; Niya Norwood, vocals; Argus Quartet / Metropolis Ensemble. Commissioned by Chamber Music America and New Music USA, Grief was filmed for Carnegie Hall’s Voices of Hope festival, conceived by Pinderhughes and directed by filmmaker Christian Padron with engineering by Jack DeBoe, inspired by the black-and-white photography of the legendary Roy DeCarava. 

Project Grant.


Susan Alcorn 

NewMusicBox feature “Fearless Slides” by Molly Sheridan. VideoArticle. 


Theatre of Movement 

The Resistance Project & the Juneteenth Awareness and Arts Program. Featured: Duane Cyrus, Founder & Director.

Photo of Duane Cyrus: Joseph Headen.

Project Grant. 



Wayne Shorter & Esperanza Spalding: Iphigenia 

Footage: REAL Magic 

Project Grant.



Performing Maré by composer Gabriella Smith
yMusic: Alex Sopp, flutes and vocals; Hideaki Aomori, clarinets; 
CJ Camerieri, trumpet and horn; Rob Moose, violin and guitar; 
Nadia Sirota, viola; Gabriel Cabezas, cello.  

Impact Fund.