Symphonic 3: Rejoice

  • Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley, CA
  • June 12, 2022
    4:00 pm

Beethoven 9 | López world premiere

To conclude Berkeley Symphony’s historic 50th Anniversary season, we join in a communal celebration with Beethoven’s epic Ninth Symphony and a reimagined libretto set by former U.S. Poet Laureate Tracy K. Smith. Also highlighted is the World Premiere commission of Rise, a celebratory work written in honor of Berkeley Symphony’s 50th Anniversary season by Berkeley-based composer Jimmy López.

Jimmy López Rise (World premiere made possible through the generous support of Kathleen G. Henschel & John W. Dewes and New Music USA)
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 featuring new text from Tracy K. Smith