Newport Classical Music Festival presents Closing Night with Pianist Lara Downes


The American pianist and cultural visionary Lara Downes returns to Newport after a sold-out performance on the 2021 Festival to present THIS LAND, a concert capturing 100 years of American transformation, celebrating the spirit of innovation and imagination, resilience and resistance, and reflecting a wide diversity of voices to illustrate the beauty that grows at the crossroads of our American journeys. THIS LAND features music by Scott Joplin, Arturo O’Farrill, Florence Price, Kian Ravaei, William Grant Still, Angelica Negrón, Jake Heggie, Margaret Bonds, George Gershwin, and more.

Set against the picturesque backdrop of the City-by-the-Sea, the Newport Classical Music Festival presents 27 concerts held in 11 historic venues over 18 days from July 4-21, featuring a total of 120 musicians from around the world. Patrons can easily craft a Festival itinerary tailored to their preferences – be it the discovery of a new composer, the rhythm of percussion, or revisiting a beloved work with a fresh perspective. The Festival celebrates its 55th anniversary this year. For 55 years, Newport Classical has been a beacon for artistry, drawing in countless concertgoers to revel in exceptional performances within unique and intimate settings.

Highlights include Opening Night with the dynamic Sphinx Virtuosi and cello soloist Thomas Mesa; a sensational recital by acclaimed violinist Anne Akiko Meyers; the return to Newport of Chanticleer, Canadian Brass, and A Far Cry; the Music Festival debut of the storied Handel and Haydn Society; two enchanting evenings with Tony Award-winning star Laura Benanti; plus performances by star pianists Joyce Yang, Llewellyn Sánchez-Werner, Drew Petersen, and Daniel del Pino; and appearances by numerous celebrated chamber ensembles including the Isidore String Quartet; PUBLIQuartet; Duo Kayo; Lincoln Trio; Fenway Quintet; Poulenc Trio with accordionist Hanzhi Wang; and Sō Percussion with vocalist and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw.