Inna Faliks w/ the Inscape Chamber Orchestra: Clarice Assad ‘Lilith’ Concerto


Inna Faliks, piano
Richard Scerbo, conductor

Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel — Overture in C major
Clara Schumann — Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 7
Clarice Assad — A Retirada
Clarice Assad — Lilith (concerto for piano & orchestra / world premiere)

Commemorate International Women’s Day with the world premiere performance of “Lilith,” a new piano concerto by Grammy-nominated composer Clarice Assad. Ukrainian-American pianist Inna Faliks is joined by the Inscape Chamber Orchestra and students from the DC Youth Orchestra and the Washington Musical Pathways Initiative.

Written for Faliks, “Lilith” refers to the biblical character who was considered a primordial she-demon. Each of the movement titles (“Spellbinder,” “Forbidden Charms,” and “Unchained”) outlines Lilith’s iconic phases and sensuality.

Also included on this program is Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 7.

Admission is free. Registration is required.